Facebook : An analysis of self behavior

Facebook. Its a name we hear often in our daily lives, in our friends conversations, our classmates, our family even. Even we use it everyday, on a daily basis. So, what is Facebook actually? In the website http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/Facebook,

“Facebook is a popular free social networking website that allows registered users to create profiles, upload photos and video, send messages and keep in touch with friends, family and colleagues. The site, which is available in 37 different languages, includes public features such as:

  • Marketplace – allows members to post, read and respond to classified ads.
  • Groups – allows members who have common interests to find each other and interact.
  • Events  – allows members to publicize an event, invite guests and track who plans to attend.
  • Pages – allows members to create and promote a public page built around a specific topic.
  • Presence technology – allows members to see which contacts are online and chat.”

So, in a nutshell, Facebook is a online network where people socialize and make friends and do things.

My experience with Facebook is that firstly, I use it on a daily basis. I’m a more observant type of user, but I often likes other people’s status. I sometime be more open when it comes to Facebook, just because the fact that between me and others, there is a screen, not a physical connection. So the anonymous state is there. Often, I would use Facebook to do work, like doing assignments, contacting people, and look about assignments. Sometimes, I feel that Facebook is a two sided being. For example, on some occasions, it helps me become who i am and what i do. But in some cases, i strongly felt like disconnecting myself from Facebook, because is depresses me. And finally, Facebook has become somewhat a part of my life, especially in the modern age where social networking and information is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

